The business of hardly working

Posted on

My hours have been cut back severely at work, because I work for a small start-up that is being audited.  It’s not that the work isn’t there, it is just that the budget for a project coordinators isn’t.  This leaves me with hours of time every day to look for a new job, work on my house, and plan my wedding.

It’s amazing because I think that I am more busy now than I was when I was working full time, and I am certainly more exhausted at the end of every day.  Today I painted trim, which meant that I had to lug this huge metal ladder around my house.  Curse my girly muscles!  The trim is now green.  Beautiful green.  Well, the trim on the front of the house is.  Because I am not earning an income of any worth, I am also in charge of all domestic duties.  After a long day working on the house, I get to make dinner.  Then I get to clean the kitchen.  It makes me feel like I should go on a hunger strike, but that’s not fair.  I have respect for women who manage a house and have children.

About Alicia

I work with monkeys, knit, sew, garden, remodel my house on a regular basis. I love working with my hands and my brain in new and interesting ways. I daily face a conflict between my idealism and real life. Feminism and my rights as they should be and what society dictates to me as the way life is. I think a lot about where nature lies and where socialization begins. It's tough, and so I decided to write.

Leave a comment